Bristol Ruby logo Latest News

Bristol Grind Out Ealing Victory

Published on 21st December 2013 by Tom Tainton

Ealing Trailfinders 7-21 Bristol Rugby

Bristol Rugby returned to winning ways in the Greene King IPA Championship with a gritty 21-7 victory over Ealing Trailfinders on Saturday.

In atrocious conditions at Vallis Way, the visitors crossed for three first half scores as Rhys Lawrence and Nick Koster both touched down, while Bristol were also awarded a penalty try.

It was Ealing who went in front when Tom Bedford intercepted a long pass in midfield to race in from eighty metres for an early converted try.

But the hosts lost skipper Adam Preocanin to the sin-bin, and Bristol took full advantage as Nick Koster rumbled over from a driving lineout moments later. Nicky Robinson converted from the angle to draw the sides level at 7-7.

Bristol took the lead on the quarter hour courtesy of a converted penalty try, awarded by referee Simon Harding following a five metre scrum.

Rhys Lawrence grabbed the visitor’s third of the afternoon thanks to another show of forward dominance. This time, the hooker dabbed down after a surge at the lineout, while Robinson converted to extend the advantage to 7-21.

Bristol were forced to defend for the closing stages of the first period and, although Ealing’s Chris Kinloch went close, Andy Robinson’s men held firm.

Both sides toiled in the sodden conditions during a forgettable second period in which the scoreboard was not troubled.

Phil Chesters came within a whisker of touching down for the Trailfinders late on, only to be bundled into touch.

Ealing Trailfinders:

Andrew Henderson; Christopher Kinloch, Ronald Mclean-Dents, Tom Bedford, Phil Chesters; Ben Ward, Morgan Thompson; Steve Neville, Sam Wilkes, Conor Carey, Steve Pape, Adam Preocanin (c), Matt Evans, Ed Siggery, Sean O’Connell.

Replacements: Andrei Radoi (for Sam Wilkes, 60 mins), Darryl Marfo (for Steve Neville, 48 mins), Tim Brockett (for Conor Carey, 56 mins), Gavin Curry (for Steve Pape, 56 mins), Sam Hocking (for Matt Evans, 60 mins), Tom Parker (for Morgan Thompson, 72 mins), Tom Wheatcroft.

Bristol Rugby:

Jack Tovey; George Watkins, Andy Short, Luke Eves, Ryan Edwards; Nicky Robinson, Callum Braley; Kyle Traynor, Rhys Lawrence, Gaston Cortes, Glen Townson, Mark Sorenson (c), Nick Koster, Marco Mama, Mitch Eadie.

Replacements: Ollie Hayes, James Hall (for Gaston Cortes, 49 mins), Ben Skirving (for Nick Koster, 67 mins), Iain Grieve (for Mitch Eadie, 77 mins), Luke Baldwin (for Callum Braley, 49 mins), Adrian Jarvis (for Ryan Edwards, 70 mins), Charlie Amesbury (for Jack Tovey, 77 mins).

Referee: Simon Harding