Bristol Ruby logo Academy

Filton Clinch Sedbergh Tens Title

Published on 05th April 2012 by Tom Tainton

Bristol Apprentices retain title following win over Edinburgh


Filton captured the prestigious Sedbergh Tens for the second successive year after another hugely impressive performance at the Cumbria tournament.

George Tavner’s side saw off some stiff competition including the likes of RGS High Wycombe on the way to the crown.

Nine Bristol EPDG Members were included in the squad, with Ryan Roach, Connor Phillips, Steve Uren, Finlay Sinclair and Jacob Unwin helping Filton to the title.

Jack Hughes, Joe Joyce, Monty Reed and skipper Sam Hanks were standout performers, while AASE players Ollie Thompson, Nathan Blakey, Will Baird, Jack Skelton, Andy Davis, Jake Holcombe, James Macfarlane and Adam Jamieson made up the rest of the squad.

Auguy Slowik's performances were recognised with the Player Of The Tournament award.

The Bristol Apprentices were drawn in a group with RGS High Wycombe, The Kings School Macclesfield and Stamford School.

Filton swept the trio aside, beating Stamford School 32-7, Kings School 29-10 and RGS High Wycombe 24-12.

On the second day of the tournament, Filton saw off John Fisher School 25-5, before a 32-7 drubbing of Lancashire outfit Kirkham.

Filton secured a 22-10 victory over Brighton in the semi-finals to set up a mouthwatering final with Edinburgh Academy.

In a sparkling display of running rugby, Filton retained the Sedbergh Tens title seeing off the challenge of the Scottish side 24-5.